Back to the Cottage

Tomorrow morning I head back up north to our summer cottage for four days. I won’t be able to post or read (no internet connection), so I’ll look forward to checking all your blogs when I get back.  I plan to do some photography while there, follow up on our tornado damage repair, and write, write, write. I’m working on a post about the feral cats we adopted in Riyadh, and also one about my recent efforts (futile, perhaps) in studying the Arabic language.  

About Marahm

At first glance, I may appear to be a middle-aged American woman with kids, grandkids, retired from a job in a hospital, gratefully relieved from the responsibilities that come with all of that. Behind the image, which is true enough, I am fairly unhinged from much of American mainstream living, having spent twelve years in Saudi Arabia, years that sprung me from societal and familial impositions, and narrow bands of truth. I have learned to embrace my identity as a seeker, an artist, and a writer. I study Arabic and Italian language, because I love them, and I love their people. I still dream of spending more time in the Middle East and Italy, though the dreaming now seems more real than the possibilities. I am a photographer. I write, and sometimes publish, flash memoir, and now a blog or two.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back to the Cottage

  1. Umm Ibrahim says:

    Have a nice break and look forward to the photographs! xxx

  2. Shahrzad says:

    Interesing programs in the way. I wait for you to come back. You’re a talented photographer..

  3. Aafke says:

    I´m waiting impatiantly for the interesting posts youre promissing us!

Leave a comment