Tagged: Bedroom Art

Tagged: Bedroom Art

imuslim tagged me:

http://imuslim.tv/2009/03/08/bedroom-art/

Here are my bedroom shots, but I must confess, the photos look better than the real thing!

These peacock feathers came from a cousin who keeps peacocks and llamas on her farm. I’ve always loved these feathers, maybe because they showcase my two favorite colors, “peacock” blue and emerald green.

IMG_1446_edited-1Β 

This plant stays in the house over winter, and I nurse it along, though it does not like staying inside. In two months I’ll be able to put it outside.

IMG_1448_edited-1

This lamp is next to my bed. What you do not see is a messy pile of books on the table. The object hanging from the lamp is a wooden shoe horn that belonged to my father. It seems to belong there; I haven’t moved it since my father died, and I actually use it to help me slip on new shoes.

IMG_1449_edited-1

This is my bedroom door. I close it at night, and I can see the clock from my bed. It makes a lot of tick-tock noise, but I don’t mind. I love the Arabic numbers. I brought this clock, and seven others (which I distributed to siblings) from Saudi Arabia.

IMG_1450_edited-1

Well, now I have the pleasure of tagging a few other people, and they are:

Hning, who might want to try picture taking as a viable alternative to writing, when she feels the need to “to say something”: http://hningswara.blogspot.com/

Susie, though she probably has better photos to take, of sculptures, sandstorms, and life on the streets of Jeddah, http://susiesbigadventure.blogspot.com/

Carol, though there’s a good chance she doesn’t have time for the frivolities of bedroom art, http://americanbedu.com/

and Aafke, from whom I expect the most charming, engaging photos of all!), http://clouddragon.wordpress.com/

The rules are simple:
* Post one or more photos that were taken from within your own bedroom. The more interesting and artistic, the better!
* Then tag at least three others to do the same.
* Don’t forget to link back to the person who tagged you.

About Marahm

At first glance, I may appear to be a middle-aged American woman with kids, grandkids, retired from a job in a hospital, gratefully relieved from the responsibilities that come with all of that. Behind the image, which is true enough, I am fairly unhinged from much of American mainstream living, having spent twelve years in Saudi Arabia, years that sprung me from societal and familial impositions, and narrow bands of truth. I have learned to embrace my identity as a seeker, an artist, and a writer. I study Arabic and Italian language, because I love them, and I love their people. I still dream of spending more time in the Middle East and Italy, though the dreaming now seems more real than the possibilities. I am a photographer. I write, and sometimes publish, flash memoir, and now a blog or two.
This entry was posted in art, Home Life, Life, Photos, Tagged! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tagged: Bedroom Art

  1. iMuslim says:

    Did you apply a Photoshop filter(s) to your images? They look like drawings – especially the peacock feathers one. πŸ™‚

    Btw, I am blown away by the digital art images you have posted on Flickr, masha’Allah. I just added you as a friend. I really think you could sell prints of your work!

  2. coolred38 says:

    I too believe aafkes will be the more interesting ones…I notice you didnt tell her to make sure they are ahem! appropriate…lol. just saying.

  3. Wow very beautiful!

    Glad you didn’t tag me for this! My bedroom has no cute appeal to it at all 😦
    No plants no feathers

  4. Marahm says:

    Thank you, iMuslim. Sometimes I think about selling prints, but I’m too busy making new images to complete the drudgery of ordering prints, and yes, I do apply PS filters to all my photos. You wouldn’t want to see them straight out of the camera. I, myself, don’t like to see them straight out of the camera.

    I’m using PSE6, with a plug-in, but I’m considering getting the full PS program.

    coolred, do you think Aafke’s pictures will not be “appropriate”? Wow, I can’t wait! πŸ™‚

    AMW, be assured that my bedroom, too, has very little “cute appeal” other than that which I add with my photo editor! And, by the way, you are tagged, too. In fact, anyone reading this is tagged. It’s fun!

  5. I love your peacock feathers! And the carving detail on the chair and the rich color of the wood! I’m afraid mine will look pretty boring, but I’ll try. I brought nothing with me from the states, so there is none of my personality in our home at all – it was all pretty much pre-furnished by my mother-in-law!

  6. Achelois says:

    Very interesting! I love your room. And the peacock feathers are absolutely stunning.

  7. Chiara says:

    Interesting idea and use of colour!

    Susie–perhaps a good excuse to redecorate in your own style or at least add a few pieces. Pre-decorated by MIL–hmmm, how not to feel “at home” πŸ™‚

  8. Safiyyah says:

    Salaams Dear:

    Absolutely lovely; as usual!

  9. Aafke says:

    I can’t believe I didn’t comment on this one? I am writing my post right now! But I will need to make more photo’s tomorrow πŸ™‚
    I was so sure I wrote a comment!
    It went like this:
    The peacockfeathers are wonderful! And I looove the beads on your lamp! They must look beautiful when the lamp is lit!
    How fascinating to have these little glimpses of a room but not to see the whole space…. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment